Louisiana Beer Laws in 2022 (Sunday Sales, Delivery, & Where To Buy)

Whether you’re planning an upcoming visit to Louisiana or a full-time resident, you may be wondering about the state’s alcohol laws. Where, when, and how can you buy beer in Louisiana, and is different in different parts of the state?

Louisiana has some of the least restrictive alcohol laws in the country, and state law generally permits the sale of alcohol throughout the week. There are no state laws prohibiting alcohol sales to certain hours, though bars and restaurants must close by 2:00 a.m. – except in New Orleans, where some bars are permitted to operate 24 hours a day.

Read on to find out more about Louisiana state liquor laws including hours, locations, and the more lax laws for parts of New Orleans.

Is Louisiana a dry state?

Dry states are states where the sale of alcoholic beverages is completely prohibited. Is Louisiana a dry state?

Louisiana state law permits alcohol sales and has some of the least restrictive alcohol laws in the country.

There are no dry states in the U.S.

Does Louisiana have any dry counties?

Rather than using the term “counties” like most other U.S. states, Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes.

Most Louisiana parishes are wet or a combination of wet and dry, meaning that certain wards within the parishes prohibit alcohol sales. 

A complete list of parishes and their wet/dry status can be found here.

When can you buy beer in Louisiana?

Bars and restaurants must close by 2:00 a.m. each day, except for those in New Orleans that are allowed to be open 24 hours a day.

There is no statewide limitation on off-premise beer sales, but some local parishes limit the hours of this practice.

Can you buy beer on Sunday in Louisiana?

Many states have blue laws which, among other things, restrict the hours that alcohol can be sold on Sunday. There are no such laws in Louisiana

Louisiana state law allows the unrestricted sale of beer, wine, and liquor 7 days a week.

Some parishes may limit the hours in which beer can be sold, or prohibit it altogether.

When do bars close in Louisiana?

If you’re out for a night on the town, when should you expect the last call?

Bars must close in Louisiana by 2:00 a.m., however, local laws in New Orleans permit bars in the French Quarter to be open 24 hours a day. 

Where can you buy beer in Louisiana?

Louisiana has some of the least restrictive beer laws in the country and beer is, in general, widely available at all hours of the day.

Keep reading for more information about the laws governing the sales of beer in:

  • Bars and restaurants
  • Gas stations
  • Package and liquor stores
  • Breweries and taprooms

Bars and restaurants

If you’re out for a meal or a drink, you’ll find that you’ll easily be able to get a beer in Louisiana.

Bar and restaurants can sell and serve beer within the following conditions:

  • Hours – Bars and restaurants statewide must close by 2:00 a.m., however, bars in New Orleans are permitted to be open 24 hours.
  • Types of beer available All (draft, bottles, cans)
  • Off-premise use No statewide law prohibits off-premise sales, however, many municipalities restrict its hours or ban it altogether.

Gas stations

Can you pick up a six-pack when you’re getting gas in Louisiana?

Gas stations can sell and serve beer within the following conditions:

  • Hours Beer, wine, and liquor can be sold at gas stations 24 hours a day in Louisiana.
  • Types of beer available: All packaged (bottles, cans)

Grocery stores

Grocery stores operate under the same restrictions regarding selling beer as do grocery stores.

Grocery stores can sell and serve beer within the following conditions:

  • Hours Beer, wine, and liquor can be sold at grocery stores 24 hours a day in Louisiana.
  • Types of beer available All Packaged (bottles, cans)

Package and liquor stores

Similar to grocery stores and gas stations, package and liquor stores have very loose beer laws in Louisiana.

Package and liquor stores can sell and serve beer within the following conditions:

  • Hours – Beer, wine, and liquor can be sold at liquor stores 24 hours a day in Louisiana.
  • Types of beer available – All Packaged (bottles, cans)

Breweries and taprooms

There are no statewide laws prohibiting off-premise sales for breweries or taprooms; however, many municipalities restrict the hours for these sales.

Breweries and taprooms can sell and serve beer within the following conditions:

  • Hours Breweries and tap rooms must close by 2 am, however, bars in New Orleans are permitted to be open 24 hours.
  • Types of beer available – All (draft, bottles, cans)

Growlers must be sealed by the brewery after filling, typically by shrink wrapping the cap.

Can you get beer delivered in Louisiana?

As of June 2020, Governor John Bel Edwards signed into law a bill that allows home delivery of beer and wine by third party or contract employees.

This law allows apps and delivery services like Uber Eats and Drizly to make on-demand beer and wine delivery in the state of Louisiana.

What is the minimum drinking age in Louisiana?

Since the adoption of the National Drinking Age Act in 1984, all U.S. states must abide by the minimum drinking age of 21.

Can minors drink beer in Louisiana with parents?

All states must abide by the national minimum drinking age of 21, however, Louisiana allows some exceptions.

Exceptions to the minimum drinking age include:

  • When the person is accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse that is over 21.
  • Where the person must handle alcohol as part of their job, such as in a restaurant.
  • If the person consumes alcohol in a private residence.
  • When the consumption of alcohol is part of a religious celebration.

Visiting minors and residents alike are allowed to consume alcohol, as long as a parent or guardian is present.

Drinking laws in Louisiana

With its drive-through daiquiri stands and legendary French Quarter open container permissions, Louisiana is often the subject of questions about alcohol legality.

In general, Louisiana’s state liquor laws are some of the least restrictive in the country, and New Orleans has some unique laws of its own.

Can you buy growlers and other unsealed beer containers in Louisiana?

The sale of growlers is permitted in Louisiana, as long as the growler is sealed. Breweries and bars that sell growlers typically shrinkwrap the cap onsite to fulfill this requirement.

Breaking the shrinkwrap seal or opening the cap in a vehicle is prohibited.

Open containers on the street

Louisiana has no statewide ban that prohibits the possession or consumption of alcohol in public places like sidewalks and parks. However, most municipalities ban it.

One major exception is the city of New Orleans, for whom drinking is a vital and vibrant part of the culture. New Orleans expressly allows individuals to carry and consume open containers of alcohol in its French Quarter, as long as the containers are plastic. Open glass bottles are prohibited. 

Cans are not explicitly allowed or prohibited, so they are often considered a gray area. Consumers willing to take the risk typically wrap them in paper bags. 

Open containers in a vehicle

Louisiana’s many drive-through daiquiri shops can cause confusion for visitors and even some residents about whether or not open containers are legal. Possession of a daiquiri in a vehicle is legal as long as it is kept sealed.

A “sealed” container in Louisiana is defined as:

  • The lid is not or has not been removed.
  • There is no straw protruding from the drink, either through the lid or otherwise.
  • The contents of the cup have not been partially or completely removed.

Having an unsealed container of alcohol in a vehicle is prohibited in all parts of Louisiana. This is true of containers being consumed by the driver, passengers, or containers that are open but have not been consumed.

Driving

Like anywhere, it is both prohibited and extremely dangerous to drive while intoxicated in Louisiana. Driving while intoxicated can result in a DWI charge.

Driving while intoxicated is defined as having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher for most drivers, however, those numbers are lower for commercial drivers (0.04%) and drivers under 21 (0.02%).

Penalties for DWIs vary based on age and number of offenses.

Under 21 years old

Drinking and driving for anyone under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% is illegal in the state of Louisiana. 

The DWI penalties for drivers under the age of 21 are as follows:

  • First offense
    • A fine of $100 to $250.
    • Substance abuse evaluation.
    • Enrollment in driver improvement educational course.
  • Second offense
    • A fine of $150 to $500.
    • Possible substance abuse evaluation.
    • Jail for ten days to three months.
    • Possible enrollment in driver improvement educational course.

Future convictions may result in additional penalties such as higher fines, more jail time, and revocation of driver’s license. In addition to their fines, DWI offenders must pay all associated costs of their conviction, including any necessary substance abuse evaluation or education fees.

21 years and older

Drinking and driving for drivers over the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% – 0.04% for commercial drivers – is illegal in the state of Louisiana. 

DWI offenders over the age of 21 may face the following penalties, though all penalties are under the discretion of a judge:

  • First offense
    • Up to six months in jail.
    • Fine of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
    • Driver’s license suspension for up to one year.
    • Proof of increased insurance for three years.
    • Driver’s license reinstatement fee of $100.
  • Second offense
    • 48 hours in jail.
    • Up to six months of additional jail time.
    • Fine of up to $1,000 plus court costs.
    • Driver’s license suspension for up to two years.
    • Proof of increased insurance for three years.
    • Driver’s license reinstatement fee of $200.
  • Third offense
    • At least one year in jail.
    • Up to five years in prison.
    • Possible home confinement.
    • Fine of up to $2,000 plus court costs.
    • Driver’s license suspension for up to three years.
    • Possible vehicle confiscation.
    • Proof of increased insurance for three years.
    • Driving license reinstatement fee of $300.
    • Required four weeks in an inpatient substance abuse program, followed by a mandatory four weeks in an outpatient substance abuse program. The offender must pay all associated fees.